Dalkey Castle - Dalkey
Dalkey Castle dates back to the early 1400's when it was constructed as a fortified town house to store goods. It certainly is not reflective of what a castle normally resembles, it is predominantly a square and fairly squat tower, there are no frills attached to it. It is known as Goat Castle, the name derived from the family who owned the castle in the 1600's, who were called the Cheevers, the origin of the name coming from "Chevre" the french word for goat. At one time there were seven castles in Dalkey, this is the only one still in existence and open to the public. It is also home to a Heritage Centre that brings the history of the town to life through exhibits, models and photographs, from past to present.
There are a number of fine characteristics to the building including a Machicolation, a Murder Hole, a Garderobe and a Crenellated Parapet. The walls are several feet thick and there are four floors, with moderate comforts and internal plumbing. It was possible for the wealthy bourgeois to live here, entertain, trade and stockpile as well as seeing off any enemy attacks.
During the "Living History Tours"' costumed guides bring the history of the castle to life in a fun and entertaining way, through the stories they tell. Visitors will be transported back in time to Tudor days, and get to see activities such as archery and cooking as well as barber surgery. The tour also incorporates St Begnet's Church and graveyard situated adjacent to the castle. There are interactive screens where visitors can learn more about the fascinating history of the castle, the part it played in the community both culturally and spiritually, and about the area and its people. Both the actors and presentation are interactive and entertaining whilst still being educational and visitors will learn a lot of wonderful historic facts during a visit.
Climb the battlements and enjoy the panoramic views of the coastline and Dublin Mountains.
The Castle is open daily except Tuesdays throughout the year.